Library Resources

Printed Materials | Electronic Resources | Audio-Visual/Multimedia Collection

Circulation Collection

All books in the Circulation Collection can be checked out by users. They are shelved by call number from the Library of Congress Classification Scheme. Users should check the VTC Library Catalogue to find the call numbers of library materials for their exact locations.

Reference Collection

The Reference Collection includes materials such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, yearbooks, handbooks, directories, almanacs, Laws of Hong Kong and atlases. Reference books are indicated by a prefix “REF” to the call number. They are for quick reference and should be used in the LRCs only.

Periodcals Collection

Current issues of periodicals are displayed on periodical racks while back issues are kept inside the racks or in the closed stack. Bound volumes of periodicals are located on the bookshelves separately to the current issues. All periodicals are indicated by a prefix “PER” to the call number.

Newspapers Collection

Current issues of newspapers are displayed on newspaper stands while back issues are kept separately and are available for loan upon request for a short period of time. All major local newspapers including the SouthChina Morning Post may be searchedand retrieved from the WiseNews database. Some major English newspapers from China, Taiwan, Asia-Pacific and U.S.A., including the Mingpao, 信報 (Hong Kong Economic Journal) are available from the Factiva, PressReader.

Reserve Collection

As requested by teaching staff, the LRCs may put books or other materials with a heavy demand in the Reserve Collection for short-term loan.

Closed Collection

The Closed Collection consists of materials that are kept in the closed stack for approved access. They are available upon request and may be checked out if needed.

Special Collections

  • Past Examination Papers & Syllabuses of Professional Organizations
    The LRC holds a collection of syllabuses, and past examination papers of selected professional organizations such as the Institute of Marketing, ICMA, ICSA, City and Guilds, LCCI, ACCA and Pitman. This collection may be shelved as part of the Reference Collection or separately.
  • Government Publications
    Government publications including ordinances, gazettes and papers issued by different governmental departments are kept in the LRCs.
  • VTC Publications
    VTC publications include reports and surveys published regularly by various VTC Industry Training Boards. This collection may be shelved as part of the Reference Collection or separately.

圖書館資源

印刷資料 | 電子資料 | 視聽/多媒體資料

主要藏書

學習資源中心內主要藏書均可借出。圖書館採用美國國會圖書館分類法 (Library of Congress Classification Scheme),將書籍分類編碼,按其索書號順序排列。讀者可從職業訓練局網上目錄中找出書刊的索書號,就知道書刊的真正擺放位置。

參考書

參考書包括字典、百科全書、年報、手冊、指南、年鑑、香港法例、地圖等。參考書的索書號前均註有位置編號"REF",一般只供館內使用,不予外借。

期刊

期刊擺放於刊物陳列架上。過期刊物則存放於陳列架內格、或閉架收藏、或編成合訂本放上書架。期刊的索書號前均註有位置編號"PER"。

報章

報章擺放於報紙架。過期報章另外存放,可供短期借閱。本地各大中英報章,包括南華早報,可經WiseNews 資料庫尋索。中、台、亞太區、美國部分主要英文報章(包括南華早報),可經Lexis and Nexis Academic Universe 資料庫尋索。

指定參考書

學習資源中心會應教職員要求,將借閱率較高的書籍,定為指定參考書,供讀者短期借閱。

閉架藏書

閉架收藏的圖書必須經許可,方可借閱,如有需要,或可外借。

特別館藏

  • 高等院校簡介 - 學習資源中心藏有多間海外及本地高等學府的簡介和概況。
  • 年報 - 部分學習資源中心藏有本地與海外上市公司及非牟利機構的年報。
  • 專業組織試卷及考試大綱 - 學習資源中心藏有多間專業組織的試卷及考試大綱,如the Institute of Marketing、ICMA、ICSA、City and Guilds、LCCI、ACCA、Pitman,此類藏書或列作參考書存放,或另外擺放。
  • 政府刊物 - 部份政府刊物如香港法例、憲報、各政府部門所發文件等。
  • 職業訓練局刊物 - 職業訓練局年報以及轄下各工業訓練委員會定期出版的調查報告,列作參考書存放,或另外擺放。